Road to Caranusca (2012) - Fiddler's Daughter (2010)

Next gig

Contact

Road to Caranusca



I first met the group "Sligo" when they kindly offered me a lift in their van to Nantes airport. As we made the drive of a few hours we spoke about all kinds of things but especially music. I was intrigued by the fact that these people were fascinated by the music of a country not their own, Ireland, and had named their group after a place to which I have many connections, Sligo. When I listened to their recordings it was easy to see, from their interesting choice of tunes and their unique arrangements, that they had a great love and affection for Irish music and had spent countless hours researching and developing their repertoire. I hope you enjoy their music as much as I do.

I wish "Sligo" every success in the future and, once again, thanks for the lift!

(Kevin Burke, fiddler - March 2012)


Sligo is the name of a city and of a county in Eire from where famous musicians such as Michael COLEMAN or Kevin BURKE (who forewords this album by the way!) originate. It's also the name of a band from Lorraine created in 2008, that consists of Yann CAROFF (guitar), Clémence RICOCHON (fiddle), Marino LEONE (bodhran), Axelle COLOMBO (fiddle), Marie-Hélène CAROFF (tin whistle), Jean-Gérard LOESCHER (electric bass) and that plays... Irish music !

After a first album widely noticed (The Fiddler’s Daughter. 2010), SLIGO is offering us a second mostly instrumental album bearing an evocative title (the road leading to Caranusca, « Stone and Water » in Celtic language, creates an imaginary trail that links the home region Lorraine of the memebrs of the band to the to the country mentioned). Several dance tunes from the tradition (reels, jigs, slip-jigs, polka) can be heard but also originals from Clémence RICOCHON (Under the Storm, co-written with Yann CAROFF, Bitter Sweet Jig, Cathy’s Garden, Cantering to Inishmor). Four songs performed by Marie-Hélène and Yann complements this pleasant to listen opus, at the same time respectful of the tradition and open to other sounds like jazz or flamenco..

Frantz-Minh Raimbourg - Ethnotempos - January 2014.


Road to Caranusca is available on the Web site by clicking on any of the Paypal links hereunder, or directly at the end of the concerts for 10 euros.

Buy online

Send within France Métropolitaine


Send within Europe


Send outside Europe


Français
English

Mailing list

Register to Sligo's mailing list by sending a mail to:

contact@sligo-music.com

Road to Caranusca (2012) - Fiddler's Daughter (2010)

Prochain concert

Contact

Road to Caranusca



J'ai fait la connaissance du groupe "Sligo" un jour où ils se sont proposé de me conduire à l'aéroport de Nantes. Pendant les quelques heures de route passées ensemble, nous avons parlé de choses et d'autres mais surtout de musique. J'étais intrigué par le fait qu'ils soient fascinés par la musique d'un pays qui n'est pas le leur, l'Irlande, et qu'ils aient donné à leur groupe le nom d'un endroit avec lequel j'ai beaucoup de liens, Sligo. A l'écoute de cet album, il est évident, par leur choix intéressant de morceaux et leurs arrangements uniques, qu'ils portent beaucoup d'amour et d'affection pour la musique irlandaise, et qu'ils ont passé un nombre incalculable d'heures à chercher et à travailler leur répertoire. J'espère que vous aimerez leur musique autant que moi.

Je souhaite à "Sligo" un grand succès pour le futur, et encore une fois, merci pour le voyage!

Kevin Burke, fiddler - Février 2012.


Sligo est le nom d’une ville et d’un comté de la République d’Irlande qui ont vu naître des musiciens célèbres comme Michael COLEMAN ou Kevin BURKE (qui préface d’ailleurs cet album !). C’est aussi celui d’une formation lorraine créée en 2008, composée de Yann CAROFF (guitare), Clémence RICOCHON (violon), Marino LEONE (Bodhran), Axelle COLOMBO (violon), Marie-Hélène CAROFF (tin whistle), Jean-Gérard LOESCHER (basse électrique) et qui joue de la musique… irlandaise !

Après une première galette remarquée (The Fiddler’s Daughter. 2010), SLIGO nous offre un deuxième album essentiellement instrumental et au titre évocateur (La route qui va à Caranusca, « Pierre et Eau » en celte, trace un sentier imaginaire reliant la Lorraine natale des membres du groupe au pays évoqué). On peut entendre différents airs à danser venus de la tradition (reels, jigs, slip-jigs, polka) mais aussi des compositions originales de Clémence RICOCHON (Under the Storm, co-signée avec Yann CAROFF, Bitter Sweet Jig, Cathy’s Garden, Cantering to Inishmor). Quatre chansons interprétées par Marie-Hélène et Yann complètent cet opus très agréable à écouter, à la fois respectueux de la tradition et ouvert à des sonorités comme le jazz ou le flamenco..

Frantz-Minh Raimbourg - Ethnotempos - Janvier 2014.


Road to Caranusca est disponible sur le site en cliquant sur l'un des liens Paypal ci-dessous, ou bien directement en sortie de concert au prix de 15 euros.

Achat en ligne

Expédition France Métropolitaine


Expédition Europe


Expédition hors Europe


Français
English

Mailing list

Vous pouvez vous inscrire à la mailing list de Sligo en envoyant un mail à:

contact@sligo-music.com